Sticky Menu Logo
Top

Wychwood Association

Our Alumnae

Wychwood prides itself on educating distinctive, creative, determined, independent and resourceful girls for over 120 years who have gone on to make an impact in all walks of life around the world from science to art, from business to comedy, from music to teaching. We are proud of all of our alumnae’s achievements. 

See more

125th Anniversary - 2022

125th Anniversary Picnic Invitation Final

Join the celebrations in September and help us create a legacy by participating in two special projects that involve you, our members. 

Save the date – Wychwood Picnic, 24th September 2022

All old girls, and former staff and parents are warmly invited. This is a celebration for the whole school, and so we will also be joined by current girls and parents. In traditional Wychwood style, the celebrations will begin with a Wychwood picnic at 12.30pm (a few minutes from Wychwood, at the end of Bardwell Road), followed by celebratory tea and bubbles at the school in the afternoon.

Please mark your calendars now and start telling your friends, and perhaps get a group together? Whether you have only just left, or are coming back for the first time after many years, everyone is welcome. 

Collecting your memories

We continue to want to collect and record your memories. And we want to make it easy for you to share these. Doulla Croft (Shell 1980) is heading up this project. Please email Doulla directly with news, updates, old photos or information about videos that you would like to share. We would be grateful if you could try and do this by 26th August (though we will be continuing to collect after this date).

Contact doulla.croft@hotmail.co.uk. 

Help us plant 125 trees – anniversary planting challenge

We have launched a tree planting project to mark the occasion and provide a legacy for both Wychwood girls and society. We need your help to meet this challenge. There are many ways to get involved from simply donating a tree online, to planting a tree in your own garden. And we will be recording details of all the trees planted – and who planted them – for posterity! We want to complete this by the end of 2022.

Click on the links below for:

125th Tree planting full information sheet

125th Participation form (please complete and return when taking part)

News

 

Wychwood Association News 

The Wychwood Association publishes an annual magazine which contains news of the WA and its members as well as from the school. It is distributed by email to all members on the WA database and is posted on the Wychwood School Association Facebook page.

To receive the WA News, please make sure your details and contact preferences are up to date on the database (see above for details on how to log in or register). Do ask your friends to update their contact details too. If you have any news or ideas for future editions:

Contact Emma Davidson at wa@wychwoodschool.org and put ‘WA News’ in the email header.

Last Edition – Trinity Term 2021 CLICK HERE

This edition features: an interview with the new investors Simon and Abigail Tyrrell;  two former pupils explain their chosen careers sky diving and marketing for a top fashion business, plus there is news from the school and old girls reminisce about school picnics.

Launch Edition – Hilary Term 2021 CLICK HERE

This edition includes: a report on the 1980s Reunion, Mrs Johnson explains how the school coped with COVID and three lockdowns.

The Elm Magazine

Copies of the Wychwood School magazine The Elm are available electronically here.

If you would like a hard copy of the magazine please contact: reception@wychwoodschool.org

News of The School

The most recent Wychwood School news can be found at www.wychwoodschool.org/news

If you have questions, please email wa@wychwoodschool.org

 

Other Events

 

Oxford and London

Every year the Wychwood Association likes to hold social events in Oxford or in London. As life returns to normal, these will resume; all events will be advertised here.

1980s Zoom Reunion Recording (November 2021)

This spectacular event brought together over one hundred old girls from that decade. The event included a film of the school as it is now, an interview with two headmistresses, a photo gallery, a bake-off competition, a book club, a Wychwood quiz, a performance by the 80s Reunion Choir specially recorded for the event and a cracking soundtrack of 80s hits! To watch a recording of the event simply login or register on the Wychwood Association page (see above).

Wychwood Association Form Reps

 

In order to help get in touch with as many alumnae as possible, we have created an informal system of ‘Form Reps’ for each year group. If your year group is not represented and you are willing to become an alumnae ‘Form Rep’ please contact the Chair, Emma Davidson on WA@wychwoodschool.org or elmwoods@btinternet.com.

ShellNameContact
1949Dorothy Barron (née Cleaver)barrondorothy@yahoo.co.uk
1953Dinah Hollanddinahholland@googlemail.com
1956Yvonne Griffin (née Thomas)rumah58@gmail.com
1960Hannah Bichard (née Parsons)bichard@btinternet.com
1961Christina Swainson (née Welbourn)swainsonchristina@gmail.com
1964Judi Whymark (née Wood)judiwhymark@yahoo.co.uk
1966Polly Woolstone (née Keith-Lucas)polly.woolstone@gmail.com
1966Sarah Sladesarahcslade@hotmail.co.uk
1968Jennifer Covillefortywinksbandb@gmail.com
1970Gill Brooks (née Spencer)gillyb53@hotmail.com
1972Cathy Barroncathybarron79@yahoo.co.uk
1973Deborah Pluck (née Munsey)djpluck@wenntownsend.co.uk
1974Lindsay Chapman (née Campbell)lindschapman11@gmail.com
1975Johanna Stephenson (née Awdry)johanna.stephenson@btopenworld.com
1976Jane Page (née Barnes)janepage@gmail.com
1977Camilla Stephenson (née Awdry)millastephenson@gmail.com
1978Ann Chancellorannchancellor@hotmail.com
1979Claire Harvey (née Rowsell)theoldbellpub@rocketmail.com
1980Emma Davidsonelmwoods@btinternet.com
1981Doulla Croft (née Peros)doulla.croft@hotmail.co.uk
1983Kate Fairekatefaire1@gmail.com
1984Jo Holmesjosephineholmes@hotmail.com
1985Sarah Edwardssarahedwards68@live.co.uk
1986Rada Radojicicrradojicic@yahoo.co.uk
1987Sarah Plumridge (née Hunt)sarahbolivern@hotmail.co.uk
1988Victoria de Nemethyviktorialevai@hotmail.com
1990Sarah Patersonsjpaterson@mac.com
1991Kate Lethaby (née Lewis)katelethaby@googlemail.com
1992Emily Barlow (née Barrett)neilemilyb@googlemail.com
1993Joanna O’Gormanjoannaogorman@gmail.com
1996Eleanor Bullelleybull@hotmail.com
1997Jenny Anstee (née Lewis)jenilew81@hotmail.com
1998Katherine Gamblin (née Ladenburg)kgamblin12@gmail.com
2000Harriet Rudman-Hawkinsharrietrudmanhawkins@gmail.com
2002Beth Briantbethbriant@hotmail.co.uk
2006Celine Shepherdcelineshepherd@hotmail.com
2007Philippa Ashdownphilippaashdown@gmail.com
2008Anna Hawthornea.hawthorne13@googlemail.com
2009Jo Arvanitisjojo@englishsessionorchestra.com
2010TBCTBC
2011Elizabeth Peachelizabeth_peach1994@hotmail.com
2012Bethan Sennettbethan.sennett@gmail.com
2013Laura Fordlauraforduk@hotmail.co.uk
2014Maddy Russellmaddyannarussell@gmail.com
2016Ella Caterellie.cater@gmail.com
2016Niketa Mattuniketamattu@yahoo.co.uk
2016Ellie TarffTBC
2017Jem Calfojrcalfo@icloud.com
2017Matilda Gardenermatildagardener@icloud.com
2018Anaïs Arroyoanaiscarroyo@icloud.com
2019Owen WhiteTBC
2019Fatemeh HozhabriTBC

Wychwood Association Committee

President
Jane Evans (Interim Head)

Chair
Emma Davidson (Shell 1980)

Secretary
Johanna Stephenson (Shell 1975/former FOW)

Treasurer
Rachel Page (Shell 1983)

Events Officer
Lizzie Peach (Shell 2011)

Social Media Officer
Claire Harvey (Shell 1979/FOW)

Committee
Sue Clear (former staff)
Michèle Crawford (former staff)
Doulla Croft (Shell 1981)
Kate Faire (Shell 1983)
Steph Jankovic (Shell 1998)
Daisy Ogle (Shell 2010)
Camilla Stephenson (Shell 1977)
Roxanne Suratgar (Shell 1981)
Libby Welch (Shell 2010)

Emeritus members
Heather Simpson (Shell 1974)
Judi Whymark (Shell 1964)
Deborah Pluck (Shell 1973)

Ex officio
Jay Hunt (Head of Marketing and Admissions)

Update your Details

We want to keep in touch. You can use the Wychwood Association Network and register or update your details here Wychwood Association Login Page.

Alternatively, if you have any problems or would like to speak to someone directly, please do get in touch with Emma Davidson, Chair, Wychwood Association at WA@wychwoodschool.org or on elmwoods@btinternet.com or with your Form Rep.

Contact us

The Wychwood Association is run by volunteers for everyone with a past connection with the school, whether alumnae, former members of staff or parents of former pupils. Please contact Emma Davidson, Chair (Shell 1980) at WA@wychwoodschool.org or elmwoods@btinternet.com if you have any questions or would like to get involved.

Form Reps
Almost every alumnae year group now has a Form Rep. All Form Reps are listed above and they will help if they can.

Social Media
For information about forthcoming events and to stay in touch follow the Wychwood Association on Facebook – simply search for The Wychwood School Association.

If you wish to follow the School on Facebook and Twitter – search for “Wychwood School”.

Wychwood Alumnae 3